# NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STATEWIDE SCHOOL SAFETY TASK FORCE WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 17, 2021

3:00 P.M.

## **Summary of Minutes of the Regular Meeting**

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT via videoconference**

Chief Jason Trevino, Chair Anthony York, Vice-Chair Gregory Cole Kasina Douglass-Boone Laura Hutchinson Ryan Miller Leon Ravin Joseph Roberts Shawina Tims

## **DEPARTMENT STAFF PRESENT via videoconference**

Christy McGill, Director, Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment Amber Reid Elizabeth Gray

#### SENIOR DEPUTY ATTORNEY GENERAL via videoconference

David Gardner, Senior Deputy Attorney General

#### 1. Call to Order

The committee meeting was called to order at 3:01 p.m. by Chair Jason Trevino. Quorum was established at 4:37 p.m. Chair Trevino led attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### 2. Public Comment #1

No public comment was present.

## 3. Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Members motioned to approved the meeting minutes from October 20, 2021.

# 4. Multi-Tiered System of Support (MTSS) Presentation and Q&A

Kaci Fleetwood and Shauna Bake from the University of Nevada, Reno - College of Education gave committee members a presentation about the implementation and outcomes of MTSS, and how it relates to school safety. Q&A session was held for members following the presentation. The PowerPoint presentation will be sent to members via blind copy email.

## 5. Naloxone in Schools Presentation and Q&A

Breana Taylor from the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment gave committee members a presentation regarding the implementation of Naloxone in Nevada schools; and the impact it's having on school safety. Breana answered members' questions after the presentation.

## 6. Task Force Nominations for Vacant Member Seat

- Director McGill informed committee member of the procedures to nominate candidates for the open member seat, pupil enrolled in a school, in this state.
- Member Ravin recommended Joel Rosenman from West Tech Academy, Las Vegas.
- Director McGill welcomed newly appointed Task Force members Laura Hutchinson and Gregory Cole, representative from the Nevada Department of Education and principal of Mohave High School, respectively.

# 7. Agenda Items for December 15, 2021

- Committee members agreed to continue to have NDE staff structure and schedule presentations for future Task Force meetings based on availability and staffing requirements.
- Social Emotional Learning (SEL) presentation, Miki Trujillo and Marie DuFresne.
- School Climate Survey Data presentation, Amber Reid.

#### 8. Public Comment #2

No public comment was present.

Meeting adjourned at 4:49 p.m.