NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STATEWIDE SCHOOL SAFETY TASK FORCE COMMITTEE

January 5, 2020 3:00 PM

STATE OF EMERGENCY SPECIAL PUBLIC NOTICE

Due to the circumstances created by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Statewide School Safety Task Force will meet via videoconference. In accordance with Governor Sisolak's State of Emergency Directive 006, Section 1, there will be no physical location designated for this meeting. The meeting will be livestreamed on the Nevada Department of Education's (NDE) website.

The public is hereby noticed that the Statewide School Safety Task Force reserves the right to take agenda items out of posted order; items may be pulled or removed from the agenda at any time; and items may be combined for consideration. Members of the public may provide public comment in writing via email; public comment will be accepted via email for the duration of the meeting and shared with the Task Force during the public comment periods. Public comment may be emailed to Dr. Charles Russo at crusso@doe.nv.gov; members of the public are asked to indicate in the email subject line whether the comment is for Public Comment #1 or Public Comment #2.

Support materials for this agenda are available at no charge on the NDE website at: Meeting Materials (under the meeting date referenced above) or by contacting Dr. Charles Russo at the Department of Education, 700 E. Fifth St, Carson City, Nevada and 2080 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, Nevada, (775) 687-9134.

AGENDA

1. Call to Order, Roll Call, and Pledge of Allegiance

2. Public Comment #1

Public comment will be taken during this agenda item regarding any item appearing on the agenda. No action may be taken on a matter discussed under this item until the matter is included on an agenda as an item on which action may be taken. The Chair will impose a time limit of three minutes. Public Comment #2 will provide an opportunity for public comment on any matter within the Task Force's jurisdiction, control, or advisory power.

3. Introduction of Committee Members (Information/Discussion)

Committee Members will have an opportunity to introduce themselves, including their name, organization, and representation.

• Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

4. Discussion and Review regarding Open Meeting Law (Information/Discussion)

The Nevada State Attorney General's Office will provide information regarding the roles and responsibilities of the Committee under Open Meeting Law.

• TBD – Deputy Attorney General, Nevada State Attorney General's Office

5. Discussion regarding current BDRs around school safety and school based mental health (Information/Discussion/For Possible Action)

Members of the Committeee will review and discuss the current school safety and school based mental health BDRs. Members will also determine if they want to recommend additional language.

- Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment
- Amber Reid, Education Programs Professional of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

6. 2021 School Safety Task Force Report Update (Information/Discussion/For Possible Action)

The Committee will update 2019 School Safety Task Force Report to create the 2021 version.

• Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

7. Scheduling of Future Meeting Dates (Information/Discussion/For Possible Action)

The Committee will discuss and vote on the scheduling of future meeting dates of the Task Force.

- Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment
- Dr. Charles Russo, Education Programs Professional, Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

8. Future Agenda Items (Information/Discussion)

Discussion regarding potential future agenda items for the Committee...

- Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment
- Dr. Charles Russo, Education Programs Professional, Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

9. Public Comment #2

Public comment will be taken during this agenda item on any matter within the Task Force's jurisdiction, control, or advisory power. No action may be taken on a matter raised under this item until the matter is included on an agenda as an item on which action may be taken. The Chair will impose a time limit of three minutes.

10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn with a second will be required

• Christy McGill, Director of the Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment