NEVADA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STATEWIDE SCHOOL SAFETY COMMITTEE WEDNESDAY July 19, 2023 3:00 P.M.

Summary of Minutes of the Regular Meeting

IN ATTENDANCE VIA VIDEOCONFERENCE:

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair Trevino

Vice-Chair York

Member Nancy Alamo

Member Gregory Cole

Member Kasina Douglass-Boone,

Member Mike Dzyak

Member Megan Hall

Member Ryan Miller

Member Andrew Scroggins

Member Shawina Tims

Member Daniel Triana

LEGAL COUNSEL TO THE COMMITTEE

Senior Deputy Attorney General David Gardner

DEPARTMENT STAFF

Director Christy McGill; Office for a Safe and Respectful Learning Environment

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

Meeting called to order at 3:00 p.m. by Chair Jason Trevino. Chair Trevino led attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance and quorum was established.

2. Public Comment #1

No public comment was present.

3. APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MEETING MINUTES

Meeting minutes from June 21, 2023, were motioned for acceptance with the amendment to change the heading minutes to the correct date and unanimously approved.

4. School Fire Drill Frequency

Member Mike Dzyak led a discussion with guests Jeff Buchanan, Dale Way, Tray Palmer, and Roy Anderson regarding school Fire Drill Frequency.

5. LEGISLATIVE UPDATES

- a) Christy McGill presented Student and Safety Bills Summary
 - AB 43
 - AB 72
 - AB 245
 - AB 285
 - AB 330

6. FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS

- a. Discussions and Recommendations on School Violence
- b. Look into social media and effects on School Safety
- c. Discuss committees formed under AB 72 and AB 245

7. Public Comment

No public comment was present.

Adjournment 4:33 p.m.