State Board of Education Member Information

Angie Castellanos, Board Secretary Updated January 4, 2024



#	Member	Title	Voting	Appointed By	Representing	Term	E-Mail	Location
						Expires		
1	Felicia Ortiz	President	Y	Elected	District 3	1/1/25	fortiz@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
2	Dr. Katherine Dockweiler	Vice President	Y	Governor	Parent or legal guardian of a pupil enrolled in public school, nominated by the Majority Leader of the Senate	3/30/25	katherinedockweiler@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
3	Tamara Hudson	DEI Chair	Y	Governor	Teacher at a public school referred by the Nevada State Education Association and nominated by the Speaker of the Assembly	1/1/25	somione220@gmail.com	Las Vegas
4	Joseph Arrascada	Member	N	Governor	Board of Regents nomination, NSHE	8/31/24	jarrascada@nshe.nevada.edu	Reno
5	Dr. René Cantú	Member	Y	Elected	District 4	1/1/25	rcantu@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
4	Maggie Carlton	Member	Y	Governor	Parent or legal guardian of a pupil enrolled in public school, nominated by the Majority Leader of the Senate	1/1/25	maggie.carlton@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
6	Tate Else	Member	N	Governor	Nevada Association of School Superintendents nomination, school superintendent	6/30/24	telse@eureka.k12.nv.us	Yerington
7	Tim Hughes	Member	Y	Elected	District 1	1/1/25	thughes@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
8	Michael Keyes	Member	N	Governor	Nevada Association of Student Councils in consultation with Nevada Youth Legislator nomination; student	5/31/24	Michael.keyes@doe.nv.gov	Las Vegas
9	Angela Orr	Member	Y	Governor	District 2	1/1/25	angela.orr@doralnnv.org	Reno
10	Mike Walker	Member	N	Governor	Nevada Association of School Boards nomination, on a school board	10/31/24	walkerm@doe.nv.gov	Reno